• Reigate Deanery is one of the largest of the 25 deaneries in the Diocese of Southwark and one of two in the Archdeaconry of Reigate. The other one being the newly formed Deanery of Tandridge, formerly Godstane and Caterham. Reigate Deanery contains 23 parishes who together currently contribute in excess of £1.3 million of the £16 million iocesan budget.

    The Synod meets three times a year in different churches around the Deanery. Each church is represented by their clergy and lay representatives. The number of lay people that can represent a parish depends on the size of the electoral roll. The current membership is around 120 although attendance at meetings is usually around 60.

    The programme for the evening often includes a visiting speaker on a subject of current interest, an opportunity for “Parishes to share” news etc as well as a formal business agenda which may include reports from Diocesan and General Synods and other bodies on which the Deanery is represented.

    The representatives on the Deanery Synod elect those who serve on the Diocesan and General Synods.


  • Daily Message